Church bulletin (before & after)

Hello readers!

In January I got the chance to re-design our Sunday bulletin, something I had been wanting to do for a while. While I didn’t get to do exactly what I imagined with it, since you do have to make sure your church approves and is comfortable with the design. At my church it’s probably about 75% seniors, therefore it’s sometimes difficult to get them to like some of the designs I come up with and I can’t go too modern. But I actually really like that I have to make sure it’s something my church will be comfortable with  because it gets me to think about and design things I wouldn’t have otherwise. Below are the before and after photos of the bulletin. I’ll list a few of the things that I’ve changed and why I changed those things, hope this helps! If you have some designs you would like to share I’d love to see them, e-mail me at yomahra.aquino@me.com

BEFORE

AFTER

The photo above is of the new bulletin, it’s the front cover and the back

Here are a few things that I changed:

• The cover, the person that designed them before would get photos off the internet, so sometimes they weren’t 300 DPI so they would be pixelated and they weren’t always the best covers. What I started to do is design my own covers so that we wouldn’t have to pay for them or have to deal with finding new ones every week, although if that’s something you do now and don’t want to design or don’t have a designer that is exactly what this blog is for so please use it!

• I removed the comics from the back for a few reasons, 1. I don’t know where the person who previously designed the bulletins got them from every week, and  2. I thought it would be best to list our beliefs and the church map so that as soon as a visitor opened the bulletin they wouldn’t get a list of beliefs like we had before, but instead a list of our weekly schedule, how to connect with us online and future events.

* Just a note, I added the church address in case one of our bulletins was ever found outside the church and they liked what we offered they could swing by and check us out.

The inside, well…what didn’t I change on the inside…

• Kept the welcome note from our pastor but added an image that represents our church a little bit. Our church LOVES coffee, we have a coffee cart every Sunday morning and it’s a pretty big hit. We always invite everyone to stay after in our courtyard and have a cup of coffee, a bagel and get to know someone new.

• The Sunday service order changed a bit, I took out some unnecessary text that was there before to shorten it and made the text flow a little better.

• I added a section where we could advertise upcoming events or events that are going on. For example last month I had an image and ad for the marriage seminar we do 2 times a year and this week I am advertising the 2 weeks we will be focusing on missions. I always like to have an image and some text below for all the basic information. Photos make everything more interesting 🙂

• I added the weekly schedule. We used to print those on a paper and stick it in the bulletin every week but that just seemed like a lot more work and like a waste of paper. Instead I added them to the inside where everyone can see what we have going on.

• Like I said above, I moved the belief statements to the back and minimized them.

• I added a connect with us section. The internet is a great way to keep your church family up to date with events and sermons, so I thought it would be important to highlight that we have a lot of resources online. I added the images of Facebook and Vimeo because when people see images I think it stands out more than text so they remember it more.

A few more things…

I changed up the divider, it used to be a rounded rectangle in different colors. I like to keep colors pretty minimal, the less the better in my opinion so I made them all red with white text. I also saw that the speech bubble/ribbon design is pretty popular right now so thats what I went with. Well that’s basically it. Like I said before I hope this helps and please please e-mail me if you have any questions or to share your own bulletins. Thanks for reading!

7 thoughts on “Church bulletin (before & after)

    • Hi Josiah,

      Thanks for checking out my blog.
      Fortunately for this bulletin, I just had to re-design it all the information was already there for me. If you’re starting one from scratch it really all depends on who your audience is. A few questions I would ask would be

      1. What is the age group of the church or what age group are you trying to attract?
      2. What does your church focus on most? (missions, ministries, studies, Sunday’s, outreach etc.)

      I’d go through a list like that, you can even look at what the bulletin I made contains and ask if you would need that much in it. Also look at other examples, maybe try looking at what the designs are like at other church in your area or really popular churches are like. Maybe you don’t need something with so much information, maybe you just need something like a flyer. There’s so many ways to go about it, it just depends on your audience. I’ll share one thing I read when I was re designing the bulletin, if someone where to find your bulletin on the street would it be interesting enough for them to want to visit? That question helped me a lot. Another piece of advice, take a class on design and if you can’t, read and learn online. There are so many tutorials and design sites out there. Hope this helped! Good luck! I’d love to see the final product!

  1. I DISCOVERED YOUR WEBSITE A FEW MONTHS AGO WHEN MY CHURCH DECIDED WE COULD SAVE MONEY BY CREATING OUR OWN CHURCH BULLETIN. WELL IT WAS NOT EASY TO SAY THE LEAST. FIRST I WAS USING CLIP ART AND I WAS NOT SATISFIED WITH THE QUALITY OF MY WORK. THEN I FOUND YOUR SITE I USED SOME OF THEM BUT I FOUND THAT IT TAKES QUIET A BIT OF TIME TO DESIGN WEEKLY PROGRAMS. I AM SPENDING HOURS TRYING TO CREATE BULLETINS.

    • Hi!

      Glad that you found my site! Are you using a template for your weekly bulletin? For example I have one template that I use every single week and I just update the announcements, date and cover on it but leave all other information the same.

    • Hi Delasi!

      I use a template that I made. It is an Adobe InDesign file that I drag and drop announcements and covers to. The template is unfortunately not something I can send out for free. If you are interested in purchasing it please e-mail me directly at churchgraphics@me.com if you need it in any other format such as a microsoft word format I can also make that happen.

Leave a Reply

