Easter…my favorite holiday

Hello again, I told you I would make up for not posting yesterday :]

As you know, Easter Sunday is coming up in about a month. Eater is my FAVORITE day of the year. I mean, like Paul says in 1 Corinthians 15 “13 If there is no resurrection of the dead, then not even Christ has been raised. 14 And if Christ has not been raised, our preaching is useless and so is your faith.” And I fully believe that He conquered death, that Jesus Christ raised himself, just as He said He would. For this bulletin cover I kept it simple, I actually like to keep easter bulletins simple and focus more on the verses. It is one of my favorite verses in the bible and it’s from Matthew 28. It is where Mary Magdalene and the other mary (as Matthew says) go to the tomb. When they arrive there is an angel there and I love the description we get of the angel, it says his appearance was like lighting. The angel says to them (and this is my favorite part), “Do not be afraid, for I know that you are looking for Jesus, who was crucified. 6 He is not here; he has risen, just as he said. Come and see the place where he lay. 7 Then go quickly and tell his disciples: ‘He has risen from the dead and is going ahead of you into Galilee. There you will see him.’ Now I have told you.”

Please feel free to use this cover, or any other cover on this blog. Hope you guys have a wonderful weekend!

Bulletin cover (click image to view full size)

Matthew 28

Jesus Has Risen

1 After the Sabbath, at dawn on the first day of the week, Mary Magdalene and the other Mary went to look at the tomb.

2 There was a violent earthquake, for an angel of the Lord came down from heaven and, going to the tomb, rolled back the stone and sat on it. 3 His appearance was like lightning, and his clothes were white as snow. 4 The guards were so afraid of him that they shook and became like dead men.

5 The angel said to the women, “Do not be afraid, for I know that you are looking for Jesus, who was crucified. 6 He is not here; he has risen, just as he said. Come and see the place where he lay. 7 Then go quickly and tell his disciples: ‘He has risen from the dead and is going ahead of you into Galilee. There you will see him.’ Now I have told you.”

8 So the women hurried away from the tomb, afraid yet filled with joy, and ran to tell his disciples. 9Suddenly Jesus met them. “Greetings,” he said. They came to him, clasped his feet and worshiped him. 10Then Jesus said to them, “Do not be afraid. Go and tell my brothers to go to Galilee; there they will see me.”

 

6 thoughts on “Easter…my favorite holiday

  1. Your site is amazing. The title made me laugh. I’m so thrilled that I have yet to find papyrus being used anywhere:)

    Thank you for making an attempt to raise the bar in the realm of “Christian” graphics/design. It’s very refreshing and inspiring as one who aims, among other things, to do the same.

    Blessings to you,

    Kaylee

  2. I should probably add that I am only a student when it comes to design. Self-taught, a mere fumbler. I’m trying my best to learn as I go. If you have any tips for learning graphic designs, specifically using design in WordPress, feel free to send them my way!

  3. Ok, I know I’m clogging up your comments, but I was scrolling through the rest of your blog and realized you love to do what I love to do! Make verses into visual graphics! Whoa, that’s awesome! I was thinking about starting up a tumblr that would post what I would call people’s “Scripture vignettes”. Not too sure about the name. I think it’s a great way for people to get more of the Living Word inside of them! Would you ever be interested in posting your graphics on tumblr and linking them back to your WordPress?

    Just a thought. Sorry. A bit of a dreamer here. I’m just so excited that other people are doing this, too:)

  4. Thank you! Thank you thank you for all your comments!
    I think Papyrus was only good for one thing…delivering the words of our savior 😉

    I just took a look at your blog and saw that you work with YWAM. At my church we’ve had a few people from YWAM Los Angeles do some events and come speak with the youth group at my church.

    As far as design, I was actually thinking about posting some blogs on how to design and the tools and resources I use. So I will be working on those soon so stay tuned. And i’d love to post graphics on your tumblr. I think it’s a great idea and great title. I was starting to think that I should maybe stop using so much scripture in my bulletins (as odd as that sounds) because I don’t see that really anywhere, and I tried but I just can’t. The verses are what spark the imagination and creativity so I’m glad to find someone who likes to do the same thing!

    Very excited that you stumbled upon my blog!

    • Hi! Yes of course you can use them. The reason I made this blog was to share the graphics I make and be a resource to churches that are in need of graphics. Please feel free to use any graphics on here.

Leave a Reply

