Be still…

Good morning!

Today I’m sharing a graphic with you that was inspired by Psalm 46:10 which says, “He says, “Be still, and know that I am God;  I will be exalted among the nations, I will be exalted in the earth.” If you have time today, read the whole chapter which I’ve attached below. In times of trouble be still and know that He is God, in times of joy be still and know that He is God, in trials and temptations, wars,  be still and know that He is God. Let’s not lose our faith and be shaken when things aren’t going well and let’s not lose our faith when things are going as planned as that happens a lot too. I was listening to Ravi Zacharias this morning and one thing that he said that stuck with me was, “There never was a time when God was not.” Think about that, He always is, always will be and always has been. No war, no natural disaster could destroy our God. It’s something I don’t think we as humans will ever understand, that God just is, I have a hard time imagining no end and my husband has a hard time imagining no beginning. We serve and amazing and wonderful God. I think we need to remind ourselves of this verse daily to just be still and know that He is God, that He is always there and in control. I pray that you are encouraged by this passage. The graphic is attached below. On a side note, I mentioned on Saturday that I was going to watch The Gettys in concert. It was truly one of the best concerts I have ever been to. If you have not listened to them please do it! They’re music is so encouraging, they write modern hymns and their songs have so much truth in them. I like contemporary music but I really like the hymns a lot more, weird right? I’m 22 and like hymns more than contemporary music. When I was singing their songs it really felt sincere when I was singing these songs. I don’t want to say my words are not sincere when I sing contemporary songs in church because they are but the lyrics in the hymns are so real, so direct and thought provoking, they are not as emotional as some of the contemporary songs are. Anyway if you get a chance and are interested I’ve posted one of they’re videos on the facebook page (http://www.facebook.com/churchgraphics) also if you have not liked the page yet please do so! Here is they’re website too (http://www.gettymusic.com/) Hope you guys have a great day!

Psalm 46

For the director of music. Of the Sons of Korah. According to alamoth.[b] A song.

1 God is our refuge and strength,
an ever-present help in trouble.
2 Therefore we will not fear, though the earth give way
and the mountains fall into the heart of the sea,
3 though its waters roar and foam
and the mountains quake with their surging.[c]

4 There is a river whose streams make glad the city of God,
the holy place where the Most High dwells.
5 God is within her, she will not fall;
God will help her at break of day.
6 Nations are in uproar, kingdoms fall;
he lifts his voice, the earth melts.

7 The LORD Almighty is with us;
the God of Jacob is our fortress.

8 Come and see what the LORD has done,
the desolations he has brought on the earth.
9 He makes wars cease
to the ends of the earth.
He breaks the bow and shatters the spear;
he burns the shields[d] with fire.
10 He says, “Be still, and know that I am God;
I will be exalted among the nations,
I will be exalted in the earth.”

11 The LORD Almighty is with us;
the God of Jacob is our fortress.

 

Church Bulletin (click on image to view full size)

Leave a Reply

