Faithful Servant…

Good Morning,

This morning I was doing a study in the book of Philippians. Philippians was a letter written by Paul to the church in Philippi  (Phi.1:1). Paul talks a lot about his struggles and how he has rejoiced in them because they have glorified God. In the first half of the chapter he speaks of his imprisonment but what I found most interesting was the second half. 22 [s]But if I am to live on in the flesh, this will mean fruitful labor for me; and I do not know [t]which to choose. 23 But I am hard-pressed from both directions, having the desire to depart and be with Christ, for that is very much better; 24 yet to remain on in the flesh is more necessary for your sake. 25  Convinced of this, I know that I will remain and continue with you all for your progress and joy [u]in the faith, 26 so that your proud confidence in me may abound in Christ Jesus through my coming to you again. Now when I first read this I thought oh, Paul is saying that he is torn between desires of the flesh and serving Christ but that didn’t sound right so I read it a few times over and read a few commentaries. What i learned is that Paul is not torn between the flesh and Christ, but he is torn between staying on earth to serve and glorify God and being with God. In all honesty, this made me jealous of Paul. He was torn between serving God or being with God. Does anyone else think thats pretty crazy? I am often torn between my flesh desires and serving Christ, not once have I been torn between being with God or serving God on earth but I think that if I was and I had the choice I would have chosen to be with God. But Paul had a choice and he chose to suffer for Christ on earth, he chose to be imprisoned, beaten, hungry, humiliated and without a home. Paul is amazing, he is such a faithful servant and such a great example of what our lives should look like. I hope this was encouraging!

The graphic for today was inspired by Colossians 2:10. It is a very simple graphic but I hope it can still be useful to someone.

Bulletin Cover / Graphic (click image to view full size)

One thought on “Faithful Servant…

Leave a Reply

